Presented anually by the League of Canadian Poets, the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. This award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year.
1981Elizabeth AllenA Shored Up HousePoetry
1983Diana HartogMatinee Light Poetry
1984Jean McKayGone to GrassBiography
Sandra BirdsellNight TravellersFiction
1985Paulette JilesCelestial NavigationPoetry
1986Joan Fern ShawRaspberry Vinegar Fiction
1987Rosemary SullivanThe Space a Name Makes Poetry
1988Di Brandt Questions I Asked My Mother Poetry
1989Sarah KlassenJourney to YaltaPoetry
1991Diana BrebnerRadiant Life FormsPoetry
1992Joanne ArnottWiles of Girlhood Poetry
1993Elisabeth HarvorFortress of Chairs Poetry
Roberta ReesEyes like PigeonsPoetry
1994Barbara KlarThe Night You Called Me A ShadowPoetry
1996Maureen HynesRough SkinPoetry
1997Marilyn Dumont A Really Good Brown Girl Poetry
1999Stephanie BolsterWhite Stone: The Alice PoemsPoetry
2000Shawna LemayAll the God-Sized Fruit Poetry
2001Anne SimpsonLight Falls through YouPoetry
2002Aislinn HunterInto the Early HoursPoetry
2003Kathy MacNail Builders Plan for Strength and Growth Poetry
2006Suzanne BuffamPast ImperfectPoetry
2009Katia GrubisicWhat if red ran outPoetry