The Commonwealth Writers' Prize is intended to "encourage and reward the upsurge of new Commonwealth fiction and ensure that works of merit reach a wider audience outside their country of origin"( Prizes (£1,000 each) are awarded in four separate Commonwealth regions, including “Caribbean and Canada" region. Regional awards go to the best book and the best first published book; Regional winners are then judged to determine the Commonwealth winners for Overall Best Book (£10,000) and Overall Best First Book (£5,000).
1989Bonnie BurnardWomen of InfluenceFiction
1999Kerri SakamotoThe Electrical FieldFiction