Established in 2000 by Scott Griffin, this Canadian initiative is designed to raise public awareness of the role of poetry in society's cultural life. Two prizes are awarded annually ($50,000 each), one to a living Canadian poet and one to a poet from any other country (which may include Canada).
2001Anne CarsonMen in the Off Hours Poetry
2003Margaret Avison Concrete and Wild Carrot Poetry
2004Anne SimpsonLoopPoetry
2005Roo BorsonShort Journey Upriver Toward Oishida Poetry
2006Sylvia LegrisNerve SquallPoetry
2010Karen SoliePigeonPoetry