Established to honour the memory of Marian Engel, the award ($15,000) is presented annually to a female Canadian writer in mid-career. In 2008, the Engel award and its companion award--The Timothy Findley Award (honouring male writers)--were discontinued and merged into the new Writers' Trust Notable Author Award.
1986Alice MunroThe Progress of LoveFiction
1987Audrey Grace ThomasGoodbye Harold, Good LuckFiction
1988Edna AlfordThe Garden of Eloise LoonFiction
1989Merna SummersNorth of the BattleFiction
1990Carol ShieldsDepartures and ArrivalsDrama
1991Joan ClarkSwimming Toward the LightFiction
1992Joan BarfootPlain JaneFiction
1993Sandra BirdsellThe Chrome SuiteFiction
1994Jane UrquhartAwayFiction
1995Bonnie BurnardCasino and Other StoriesFiction
1996Barbara GowdyMister SandmanFiction
1997Katherine GovierAngel WalkFiction
1998Sharon ButalaThe Garden of EdenFiction
1999Janice Kulyk KeeferHoney and Ashes: A Story of Family Memoir
2000Anita Rau BadamiThe Hero’s WalkFiction
2001Elizabeth HayA Student of WeatherFiction
2002Terry GriggsRogues' Wedding Fiction
2003Elisabeth HarvorAll Times Have Been ModernFiction
2004Dianne WarrenA Reckless Moon: And Other StoriesFiction
2005Gayla ReidAll the Seas of the WorldFiction
2006Caroline AddersonPleased to Meet YouFiction